Borrowed Tables: 1992-1997

The SUNS club was set up by the current president Theo Morsink. Started as the Berowra Table Tennis Club in June 1992, the opening of the Berowra Oval Meeting Room gave the club it's first venue. An advertisement in the local 'Bush Telegraph' newsletter saw Theo joined by seven others playing on borrowed second-hand tables for a hit once a week.

The news spread rapidly and in the 2nd year, membership had grown to 24 juniors and 20 seniors, mostly from the Berowra area. Our juniors were gradually lured away by other sports, but senior membership increased steadily. With fundraising, and sponsorships from Hornsby Council and Berowra RSL, the old tables were gradually replaced by new ones.

Our first competitions were played in the Central Coast competition, where our A, A Reserve and B teams participated very successfully by winning several team and individual titles. Players like Harry Greenland, Theo Morsink, Aly Mousa, Jerome, Stuart and Ben Gomez, Carole Davies, Simon Gunning and Linda McCreath were later joined by Don Carswell, George Opatrny, Hiro Aoki, John Hutchinson, Geoff Brookes, Kevin Okeby and Gilbert Wilden to mention a few.

Learning to Shine: 1997-2003

In 1997 the SUNS joined the Manly-Warringah District competition. Having outgrown the Berowra Oval Meeting Room, the club decided to move to a new home venue at St. Leo's College, Wahroonga in July 1997, allowing an increase in table numbers from 3 to 5. The club's name was also changed at this time to Sydney Upper North Shore (SUNS) TTA, to better reflect the expanded area players now came from.

Membership continued to grow and spread over a wider geographical area. At one stage, with 7 competition teams, it became necessary to play on 2 nights, with home matches on Thursdays, leaving Tuesdays for social play and practice.

Highlights of the time at St. Leo's included several championships especially in the top grade, with new players like Stewart McDonald, Michael Kemp, Morgan Ng, Yin Wong, Philip Priest, Marcus Green, Francis Teh, Raffi Krikorian, Col Cashman, Pauline Weekes, David Gardner, Julie and Mark Guthrie, Rod Falck, Tom Lee and Mark Seeto.

Gradually the table tennis fraternity became aware of the SUNS' existence through achievements such as hosting and beating the Fiji National training squad, selection of George Opatrny in the NSW veterans team and wins by Michael Kemp in the New Zealand Veterans Championships. State tournament wins by Michael Kemp, Stewart McDonald and George Opatrny in both singles and doubles also helped promote the SUNS.

A New Home for Future Growth:
2004 and onwards...

With future growth in mind, Club President Theo Morsink pursued the chance to secure a place at the new indoor sports centre being planned for the old brickworks site at Thornleigh. After several years liaising with Hornsby Council to ensure the Club's requirements were included in the planning, the SUNS were offered the showcourt of the new Thornleigh Indoor Sports Stadium, 'The Brickpit' on Friday nights.

So on the 24th October 2003, the SUNS moved to their current home at The Bickpit. Fundraising ensured the club was able to expand from 5 to 9 tables initially. Now with 18 competition standard tables available for play each Friday, it is regarded as one of the best Table Tennis venues in the country.

And it appears the message has been received favourably by the community, with the number of new members dramatically increasing since the move. With this support, the SUNS have shown that Table Tennis in Sydney's North is a viable sport with a bright future. And at this rate, we won't have to wait too long until we will start producing the elite players needed to give this Olympic sport the public attention it deserves.


SUNS Club Champions 1992-2017.

 1992 - 1993 Theo Morsink
 Harry Greenland
 1995 - 1998  Don Carswell
 1999 - 2001 Stewart McDonald
 Don Carswell
 2003  Gary Lo
 2004 Michael Kemp
 2005 - 2006
 Hien Tran
 2007 - 2009 Paul Pinkewich
 2010 Richard Tanner
 2011 Michael Feng
 2012 Erny Tsao

 Richard Tanner


Barry Hsueh

2015 - 2016

Jale Lee


Wootaek Oh


Bob Liang


Our 1st Australian Champion U18 2008 and SNDTTA Ditrict Champion, Justin Han. 


SUNS 2005 and 2006 Autumn Comp Division 1 winners, and
2006 NSW Veterans Doubles Champions:
Stewart (left) and Michael.


Paul Pinkewich 2008 singles & doubles club champion with partner and A-Res winner, Weston Cai.


Against Fijian National Training Squad at St. Leo's, Wahroonga.


Five times Club Champion Don Carswell (left) and George Opatmy, our first NSW Veterans Representative.


SNDTTA Open District Championships and NSW Corporate Games are now a regular events


 District Top 5 winner 2013 Div’n 1: Richard Tanner presented with the perpetual trophy by the SNDTTA president.